RSA Conference Awards

Established in 1998, RSA Conference Awards acknowledge the outstanding contributions of individuals and organizations in the field of cryptography, public policy, information security and new in 2018 – security humanitarianism.

Excellence in the Field of Mathematics

The RSA Conference Award for Mathematics recognizes innovation and ongoing contribution to the field of cryptography. The judging committee seeks to acknowledge those nominees who are pioneers in their field, and whose work has applied lasting value. Nominees are affiliated with universities or research labs.

Excellence in Information Security

The RSA Conference Award for Excellence in Information Security recognizes outstanding achievement in the industry. The judging committee seeks to recognize a security practitioner for their security program or initiative.

Excellence in the Field of Public Policy

The RSA Conference Award for Public Policy is designed to recognize significant contribution and leadership in the field of cyber security public policy. The judging committee seeks to reward nominees who hold elected or appointed office, are associated with public interest organizations or are associated with an organization that has significantly contributed to the development or application of current information security and/or privacy policy.

NEW! Excellence in Humanitarian Service Award

Humanitarian efforts across the globe are growing exponentially, and technology is often deployed as part of the solution.  Technology used on projects to do good and positively enhance and protect lives in tangible, impactful ways, brings with it the need for effective protection. Heroes are those who have established a record of providing necessary expertise and efforts to ensure humanitarian project success, which deserves recognition. We seek your input in nominating deserving recipients to this award.

The winners will be announced in a tribute video during the opening keynote sessions on Tuesday, April 17th, 2018. 

Submission Guidelines*


There are no specific criteria for selection but in order for your candidate to be seriously considered, please be as specific as possible about your nominee’s accomplishments. Here are some suggestions to include:

Excellence in Information Security 

  • How has he or she helped to improve the security or business processes at their organization?
  • How did the achievements help the nominee’s organization? What were the results?
  • What “best practices” mentioned as part of the nomination should be repeatable and be of use to other organizations. 

Excellence in Mathematics

  • What is his or her contribution to the field of cryptography?
  • Describe the lasting value of his or her work

Excellence in Humanitarian Service

  • How has the work of the nominee benefitted a specific humanitarian- focused effort or many different efforts in achieving greater security?
  • What lasting impact has the nominee had on the humanitarian effort(s)?
  • The nomination review committee will entertain nominations of individuals who are still active in their work and will also consider posthumous recognitions. 

*Please note, we only accept nominations for the Excellence in Mathematics and Excellence in Information Security Awards and Excellence in Humanitarian Service Award. 

Entry Rules


The winners will be announced in a tribute video during the opening keynote sessions on Tuesday, April 17th, 2018.

1. You may nominate more than one person for either award, but multiple submissions for the same person will not increase their chances of winning an award.

2. A selection committee will be created, which will review the nominations submitted and select a winner.

3. All submitted material will remain confidential.

4. Descriptions of submissions may be published in connection with the awards. Entrants may mark sensitive parts of their entry clearly as 'not for publication'.

5. Entries may be withdrawn or re-submitted at any time up to the closing date upon written request. Please send requests to 

6. The committee reserves the right to amend category selection where appropriate.

7. The committee will decide if there is any conflict of interest in a committee member voting or finding in favor of a specific entry. In the event that there is, that member will not be permitted to influence any decisions regarding that entry.

8. The committee’s decision is final in all cases.

9. Finalists will be notified approximately four to six weeks in advance of the presentation of the awards.

If you have any questions about the RSA Conference 2018 Awards Program, please email

This document was retrieved from on Mon, 15 Jul 2019 18:38:30 -0400.