RSA Conference 2018 Ready to Roll Out the Red Carpet for Awards Season

Posted on by RSAC Editorial Team

Oscars? Grammys? SAG Awards? Golden Globes? Nope. It’s time for awards season on the world’s biggest cybersecurity stage – the 2018 RSA Conference Awards are now open and accepting submissions. Here’s everything you need to know, including a brand-new piece of hardware for 2018:

What’s new for 2018?

Excellence in Humanitarian Service Award
Humanitarian efforts across the globe are growing exponentially, and technology is often deployed as part of the solution. Technology used on projects to do good and positively enhance and protect lives in tangible, impactful ways, brings with it the need for effective protection. Heroes are those who have established a record of providing necessary expertise and efforts to ensure humanitarian project success, which deserves recognition. We seek your input in nominating deserving recipients to this award.

What are the other award categories?

Excellence in the Field of Mathematics
The RSA Conference Award for Mathematics recognizes innovation and ongoing contribution to the field of cryptography. The judging committee seeks to acknowledge those nominees who are pioneers in their field, and whose work has applied lasting value. Nominees are affiliated with universities or research labs.

Excellence in Information Security
The RSA Conference Award for Excellence in Information Security recognizes outstanding achievement in the industry. The judging committee seeks to recognize a security practitioner for their security program or initiative.

Excellence in the Field of Public Policy
The RSA Conference Award for Public Policy is designed to recognize significant contribution and leadership in the field of cyber security public policy. The judging committee seeks to reward nominees who hold elected or appointed office, are associated with public interest organizations or are associated with an organization that has significantly contributed to the development or application of current information security and/or privacy policy.

What are the deadlines?
Full entry rules and submission guidelines for the 2018 RSA Conference can be found here but the deadline to submit a nomination is at 5:00 PM PST on Friday, January 19th, 2018, so get moving on those nominations!

When do we find out who wins?
The winners will be announced in a tribute video during the opening keynote sessions on Tuesday, April 17th, 2018. 

What’s the history?
We are celebrating 20 years of awards! Established in 1998, RSA Conference Awards acknowledge the outstanding contributions of individuals and organizations in the field of cryptography, public policy, information security and new in 2018 – security humanitarianism. Watch winners from last year’s excellence awards here.

RSAC Editorial Team

Editorial, RSA Conference

Blogs posted to the website are intended for educational purposes only and do not replace independent professional judgment. Statements of fact and opinions expressed are those of the blog author individually and, unless expressly stated to the contrary, are not the opinion or position of RSA Conference™, or any other co-sponsors. RSA Conference does not endorse or approve, and assumes no responsibility for, the content, accuracy or completeness of the information presented in this blog.

Share With Your Community

Related Blogs